Review: Bone Crier’s Moon by Kathryn Purdie

Hello everyone! I finished Bone Crier’s Moon by Kathryn Purdie yesterday and immediately had to write a review for this breathtaking start of a new duology! Keep reading if you want to learn more about what may very well be my favorite read of 2020!


About the Book

Image result for bone criers moon

Title: Bone Crier’s Moon

Author: Kathryn Purdie

Genre: YA Fantasy

POV: 1st Person (from 3 different points of view)

Page Count: 480 Pages

Release Date: 3/3/20

Goodreads

Synopsis: Bone ​Criers have a sacred duty. They alone can keep the dead from preying on the living. But their power to ferry the spirits of the dead into goddess Elara’s Night Heavens or Tyrus’s Underworld comes from sacrifice. The gods demand a promise of dedication. And that promise comes at the cost of the Bone Criers’ one true love.

Ailesse has been prepared since birth to become the matriarch of the Bone Criers, a mysterious famille of women who use strengths drawn from animal bones to ferry dead souls. But first she must complete her rite of passage and kill the boy she’s also destined to love.

Bastien’s father was slain by a Bone Crier and he’s been seeking revenge ever since. Yet when he finally captures one, his vengeance will have to wait. Ailesse’s ritual has begun and now their fates are entwined—in life and in death.

Sabine has never had the stomach for the Bone Criers’ work. But when her best friend Ailesse is taken captive, Sabine will do whatever it takes to save her, even if it means defying their traditions—and their matriarch—to break the bond between Ailesse and Bastien. Before they all die.


Review

Pros

  • Absolutely stunning cover!
  • CHARACTER GROWTH (We really get to see Sabine grow from a sidekick character to a character with her own agency and strength)
  • Unique Magic System, with a rich mythology to support it.
  • Twists and Turns everywhere
  • The side characters felt like actual characters as well
  • Strong Friendships (I enjoyed this more than the actual romance)
  • Pacing (there were no lulls in the story, which is amazing for a book that’s nearly 500 pages long.

Cons

  • The romance seemed a little unnatural (I would have liked to see more of a slow burn in this enemies-to-lovers romance)
  • One symbol in the novel, a silver owl, seemed to be a deus ex machina, which slightly bothered me at times. (Imagine having the hints on in a video game so that you can’t lose. That’s the owl for me.)
  • THE CLIFFHANGER ENDING!!! (I need the sequel right now)

I am so pleased that this book had far more Pros than Cons. Bone Criers Moon was a breathtaking read that had me flipping pages quite literally until the sun came up. It was paced perfectly, and between the 3 points of view, something was always happening. There were definitely times when I wished that I could skip a few chapters and continue on from a certain characters POV, because all three storylines were so compelling, and so were the voices of each of our main characters. I honestly can’t tell you who I liked best, but it was great to be in their heads while reading this book.

As I mentioned in the Cons, one issue that I had was with the romance. It seemed like it went from -100 to 0 to 10 to 1000 way to quickly for my liking. I think that a slower burn, built up more on the page and over long periods of time might have been more realistic. I definitely like the pairing of Bastien and Ailesse, but I didn’t find myself swooning at their interactions. I hope that this gets built up more in the next book of the duology.

There’s so much that I could say about this book! The settings are all gorgeous and felt very vivid in my mind. I probably would have liked to see more of the world, but the locations that were important were fleshed out well. I loved how certain details about the magic system, certain characters, and the world itself were slowly unveiled over time. There were very few info dumps, and they never felt like proper info dumps, but just information being relayed in a natural way. The author truly has a gift for writing.

I wholeheartedly give this book 5/5 stars, and would recommend it to anyone! Fans of Serpent and Dove or anyone searching for a YA fantasy novel steeped in french folklore will likely love Bone Criers Moon as much as I did!

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Thank you for reading!


Follow me on Instagram for book pictures, mini-reviews, and more!

Check out my shop, Total Bookish Eclipse!

Use code STARLIGHT10 for 10% off a 1 month subscription to Reel Bookish!

Use code STARLIGHT10 for 10% off your order at Sam Marie’s Artistry!

Try out Grammarly via my affiliate link!

2 thoughts on “Review: Bone Crier’s Moon by Kathryn Purdie

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: