Blog Tour: All the Stars and Teeth by Adalyn Grace – Review + Favorite Quotes + GIVEAWAY

Hello lovely readers! Today, I’m super excited to bring you my blog tour stop for the All the Stars and Teeth blog tour! In this post, you’ll get to learn about the book and the author, and also read my review and see some of my favorite quotes from the book! I’ve also

Thank you so much to the Fantastic Flying Book Club and publisher for including me on this amazing tour and sending me a copy for review! All the Stars and Teeth has been high on my TBR ever since it first crossed my radar, so being able to read this book early has been quite the honor. Did it live up to my expectations? Keep reading to find out!


About the Book

Set in a kingdom where danger lurks beneath the sea, mermaids seek vengeance with song, and magic is a choice, Adalyn Grace’s All the Stars and Teeth is a thrilling fantasy for fans of Stephanie Garber’s Caraval and Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass series.

She will reign.

As princess of the island kingdom Visidia, Amora Montara has spent her entire life training to be High Animancer—the master of souls. The rest of the realm can choose their magic, but for Amora, it’s never been a choice. To secure her place as heir to the throne, she must prove her mastery of the monarchy’s dangerous soul magic.

When her demonstration goes awry, Amora is forced to flee. She strikes a deal with Bastian, a mysterious pirate: he’ll help her prove she’s fit to rule, if she’ll help him reclaim his stolen magic.

But sailing the kingdom holds more wonder—and more peril—than Amora anticipated. A destructive new magic is on the rise, and if Amora is to conquer it, she’ll need to face legendary monsters, cross paths with vengeful mermaids, and deal with a stow-away she never expected… or risk the fate of Visidia and lose the crown forever.

I am the right choice. The only choice. And I will protect my kingdom.

Goodreads | Amazon | B&N | iTunes | Bookdepository | Kobo | Google Books


Review + Favorite Quotes

Okay, this would’t be a Starlight Reads book review if I didn’t start off by commenting on the AMAZING cover! I’ll definitely write up a more in-depth cover review once I get a finished hardcover edition (I only have a paperback ARC copy right now, and I want to base my book cover review on what the completely finished copy looked like!)

Now, into the book review!

To be completely honest, I was initially a bit bored with this book. In the first few chapters, we’re hit with a bit of an info dump about magic systems and worldbuilding, which I’m definitely not a fan of. Amora is the princess of Visidia, so I can’t see why she would feel the need to think about that and “tell” it to the reader. I was just really thrown off by how “telling” the first few chapters felt, when a lot of things could have been shown in the narrative.

That being said, the narrative is very well thought out, and the characters we encounter are quite interesting and well fleshed out. Adalyn Grace is quite talented at pulling the reader into the narrative and keeping them hooked. The magic system confused me a bit at first, but then I totally understood and appreciated it. My main point here is that there’s a lot going on in this novel, and I think that Adalyn Grace handled it in the best way she could. Could it have been done a bit better? Yes, but I’m not complaining too much. I really enjoyed this book, especially considering that it’s her debut novel. I can only imagine what she’ll come up with for the sequel (this is part of a duology!) and her future books.

I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who enjoys adventure-fantasy novels, and would give it 4/5 stars.

Favorite Quotes:

“If there’s one think I know for certain about this night, it’s that I am meant to wear this crown.”

“The ocean below twinkles as if dusted with millions of crystal shards.”

“Mira offers me a cloak that looks as thought it’s been drenched in melted sapphires and dusted with starlight. She hooks it to my down, just below the shoulders, and my breath catches. It glistens like the sun reflecting off dark water and stains my fingertips with shimmer as I brush them across the soft fabric.”


About the Author

Adalyn Grace graduated Summa Cum Laude when she was 19-years-old. She spent four years working in live theater, and acted as the managing editor of a nonprofit newspaper. During and after college, she studied storytelling as an intern on Nickelodeon Animation’s popular animated show, The Legend of Korra (sequel to Avatar: The Last Airbender). She was a participant in Pitch Wars 2016, and is a former literary agent intern for an established agency.

Adalyn splits time between San Diego and Arizona with her bossy cat and two dorky dogs, and spends her days writing full time while trying to find the city’s best burrito.

She has several projects in the works, and hopes to continually push the boundaries and explore the limits of upper young adult fiction.

You can follow her on Twitter, at @AdalynGrace_

Goodreads | Website | Instagram | Twitter


Giveaway

Prize: Win a finished copy of ALL THE STARS AND TEETH by Adalyn Grace (US/CAN Only)

Starts: February 4th 2020

Ends: February 18th 2020

Rafflecopter:

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/d9681b86457/?


Thank you so much for visiting my blog today! I hope you enjoyed this post, and that you’ll check out the book! Don’t forget to check out the rest of the tour schedule for other amazing content like guest posts, interviews, and more! Also, check out my Instagram later today for my stop on the bookstagram tour!


Follow me on Instagram for book pictures, mini-reviews, and more!

Use code STARLIGHT10 for 10% off your order at Sam Marie’s Artistry!

Try out Grammarly via my affiliate link!

One thought on “Blog Tour: All the Stars and Teeth by Adalyn Grace – Review + Favorite Quotes + GIVEAWAY

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: