Blog Tour: A Shifting of Stars by Kathy Kimbray – Book Cover Review + GIVEAWAY

Hello everyone, and welcome to my tour stop for the A Shifting of Stars book tour! For this tour stop, I’ll be doing something a little different. Rather than reviewing the book, I’ll be reviewing/critiquing the book cover itself! I’ve been planning on doing a book cover review series for a while, and I couldn’t think of any better book to start it with than A Shifting of Stars.

Thank you to Caffeine Book Tours for hosting this blog tour!


About the Book

Title: A Shifting of Stars

Author: Kathy Kimbray

Publisher: Self-published

Publication date: 28 May 2019

Length: 450 pages

POV: 1st Person

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy

Links: Amazon | Goodreads


Synopsis:

A squandering emperor. A handsome stranger. A reluctant heroine. And the ancient magic that will capsize a kingdom.

Seventeen-year-old Meadow Sircha watched her mother die from the wilting sickness. Tormented by the knowledge that the emperor failed to import the medicine that would have saved her, she speaks out at a gathering of villagers, inciting them to boycott his prized gladiator tournament.

But doing so comes at a steep cost.

Arrested as punishment for her impulsive tongue, Meadow finds herself caught up in the kind of danger she’s always tried to avoid. After a chance meeting with an enigmatic boy, she’s propelled on a perilous trek across the outer lands. But she soon unearths a staggering secret: one that will shift her world—and the kingdom—forever.

Filled with longing and heart, surprise and wonder, A SHIFTING OF STARS is perfect for fans of AN EMBER IN THE ASHES, RED QUEEN and SHADOW AND BONE.


About the Author

Kathy Kimbray is a YA author from Australia.

After graduating from the University of Technology, Sydney, with a degree in Media Arts and Production, she went on to complete postgraduate studies in education and spent many years as a primary school teacher.

Now a full-time novelist, Kathy is lucky to be able to tell stories every day.

Aside from writing, Kathy is an avid reader, dancer, language learner, musical theater enthusiast and fan of terrible reality TV. She lives with her husband in Sydney, and dreams of one day owning that elusive chateau in France.

Website | Goodreads | Instagram | Facebook | Twitter


Book Cover Review

They always say not to judge a book by it’s cover, but who can ignore A Shifting of Stars‘s gorgeous cover design? It instantly drew me in and made me want to read this book.

Let’s start off by dissecting the cover, which I’ve included again here for reference. As a base, the background is a radial gradient from black to indigo. On top of that, there’s a scattering of aqua colored dots/bubbles in various sizes, sort of like paint splatters. There’s wispy blue smoke running horizontally across the middle of the cover.

At the top and bottom of the cover are ornate gold filigree pieces, which almost look 3D on the page (this would look gorgeous embossed!) Wrapped up in those golden pieces are branches of leaves, which reach toward one another. That, coupled with the indigo area and the general shape of the filigree pieces, gives the illusion of an oval shape in the center of the cover.

Lastly, we have a scattering of golden stars in the black areas of the page. The title of the book is in gold as well, with a faux emboss and sparkles to make it really pop. The series branding and author name are in the same aqua color as the dots.

Now, that description might sound strange or disjointed, but when you put all of those elements together, we get a cover that’s purely breathtaking and elegant. The colors in the background are cool-toned, but are juxtaposed by the warm gold tones in the 3D elements in the foreground, which add an air of luxury to the cover. I’m personally in love with this cover because of the starry look of the cover, but there’s something more to it that’s just beautiful. I like that it’s a dark cover, which allows for the gold elements to really pop. I also like that it’s not too heavily starry or galaxy-like, as this is a fantasy novel, not a sci-fi. If I have any complaints about the cover, that would be it – that this cover could easily be confused for a scifi cover due to the elements on it. However, that’s a very minor complaint, and I think people would pick up this book no matter what genre it is.

This book was self published, which makes this cover wow me even more! A lot of self published books have covers that look more amateur, so kudos to the artist who designed this cover! This looks like it could have been designed and published by a traditional publishing house.

I give this cover 5/5 stars. How could I not?

Giveaway

Prize: One (1) signed paperback copy of A Shifting of Stars and one (1) Amazon gift card worth 10 USD (two winners: one for the paperback, one for the gift card)

Scope: Open worldwide/internationally

Link to Rafflecopter giveaway: http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/950d261634/ 


Tour Schedule

Here’s the schedule for the rest of the tour in case you want to check out other blog posts! The schedule can also be found on the main tour post.

July 07

July 08

July 09

July 10

July 11

July 12

July 13


Thanks for reading! If you’re interested, there will also be a Twitter chat on Saturday, where you can discuss the book! I’ll include the details below.



Follow me on Instagram for book pictures, mini-reviews, and more!

Use my code STARLIGHT10 for 10% off your order at Wonderdame Bookmarks

Use my code STARLIGHT10 for 10% off your order at Phraseology Boutique

Use my code STARUNPLUG10 for 10% off your 3,6, or 12-month subscription for Unplugged Book Box

Use my code STARLIGHTREADS to save on your order at Fantasy Monthly

Use my code STARLIGHT10 for 10% off your order at Ignite English

Try out Grammarly via my affiliate link!

5 thoughts on “Blog Tour: A Shifting of Stars by Kathy Kimbray – Book Cover Review + GIVEAWAY

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: