Review: Pillow Thoughts II by Courtney Peppernell

40398728

Synopsis: Peppernell understands that healing is a process, and Pillow Thoughts II eloquently captures the time and experience that one goes through on their journey to peace through restoration. 

A collection of inspirational and comforting poems for anyone who is mending from a broken heart.

Date Finished: 7-29-18

Rating: 5/5

Thoughts: I’m going to start off my review by saying that I love jellyfish. If you give me a blank canvas and some paint, chances are I’m going to paint a jellyfish floating in space ( have… 3 times.) I picked up Pillow Thoughts II (and Pillow Thoughts) mainly because of the covers, and also partially due to my newfound interest in poetry. If you’re interested in the popular “instagram” style of poetry (short, meaningful, easy to read) then you just might like this collection of poetry.

The subtitle of this collection is “Healing the Heart,” so it’s only fitting that the section titles are related to the heart. There are 5 sections in this one, as opposed to the 10 in the first novel. The section titles are: “If your heart is in love,” “If your heart is aching,” “If your heart is missing someone,” “If your heart is Happy,” and “These are for your heart.” Each section is around 40 pages long. I really like that the poems are divided into sections. It’s easy to open up to a specific section whenever you want a particular mood.

There’s not too much to say about the poetry. Peppernell’s poetry is gorgeous and moving. Some of them are as short as a single line, while others are half a page long or longer. Some tell small stories, while others are thoughtful musings.

While you can easily read through a single section for a particular mood, I recommend that you just open to a random page and just take in whatever poem is on that page. You’ll get a lot out of the book that way, and you might find that the book takes longer for you to get through. Its the type of book you should savour, not binge-read.

I’ll share one of my favorite poems from this collection:

Sometimes I fall asleep and I am still half awake, watching myself dream. In these moments, I am more than I ever thought I could be. I am more than a dream, more than the moon. I am the universe, and every possibility belongs to me.”

All-in-all, I highly recommend this book! Fans of Atticus, Rupi Kaur, r.h. Sin, or really any instagram poet will probably enjoy Courtney Peppernell’s newest collection of poetry. It comes out next Tuesday, so be sure to pick up your own copy!

*Thank you to Andrews McMeel Publishing for providing me with a copy of Pillow Thoughts I and II for review*

Goodreads Link


Thanks for reading! Let me know that you think in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: