Review: Nyxia by Scott Reintgen

image

Synopsis: Emmett Atwater isn’t just leaving Detroit; he’s leaving Earth. Why the Babel Corporation recruited him is a mystery, but the number of zeroes on their contract has him boarding their lightship and hoping to return to Earth with enough money to take care of his family.
Forever.
Before long, Emmett discovers that he is one of ten recruits, all of whom have troubled pasts and are a long way from home. Now each recruit must earn the right to travel down to the planet of Eden—a planet that Babel has kept hidden—where they will mine a substance called Nyxia that has quietly become the most valuable material in the universe.
But Babel’s ship is full of secrets. And Emmett will face the ultimate choice: win the fortune at any cost, or find a way to fight that won’t forever compromise what it means to be human.

Date Started: 7/9/18

Date Finished: 7/10/18

Rating: 5/5

Thoughts: Nyxia is quite possibly one of the most fun books I’ve read in quite a while.

At the very start of Nyxia, we’re dropped straight into the action. Backstory comes later, woven easily into the course of the novel when things are relevant. The stakes are set high from the very beginning, and they stay that way throughout the entire novel, as new twists, turns, and challenges pop up.

I really enjoyed the diversity of the characters in this book. Emmett, the main character, is black, and the other characters come from various countries across the globe. I also enjoyed that language barriers and cultural differences came up, and how they were dealt with.

There really aren’t any dull moments in this book. While a good majority of the book consists of the competitions, there are always new challenges thrown in for the recruits to react to. There’s also the aspect of friendship and romance. I feel that the friendships in the novel felt pretty real and organic, especially given the situation. However, without giving anything away, one romance felt pretty instantaneous and unbelievable. You’ll probably know it when you see it. That was one downfall for for, but just a minor one. The main conflict in Nyxia is the danger, secrets, and challenges that come with Babel’s competition. Everything else is extra.

I found myself constantly flipping pages while reading this, and I finished it in a day. It’s not necessarily a fast, easy read, but the action and high stakes kept me up at night reading it.

Nyxia is the first book in a series of 3, which is evident by the cliffhanger at the end. If that’s a turn off for you, don’t worry! The second book, Nyxia Unleashed, comes out later this month on July 17th, so you won’t have to wait long to find out what happens next!

Fans of Divergent, The Hunger Games, Across the Universe, and Dove Arising will love this high-stakes sci-fi thriller!

Goodreads

One thought on “Review: Nyxia by Scott Reintgen

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: